Would love to get some pointers on my first fpv setup.

OzFlyer

Hi,

I am brand new at fpv and I have constructed my first fpv setup. I am having some problems. They are as follows:

1. I have a dx61 and I read from another thread that it is possible to get at least a 1km (3500 foot) range. My failsafe kicks in sometimes at not even 300m los.

2. When I plug in battery the ailerons, rudder and elevator twitch. This only happens when I go through rvosd.

3. When I land the video signal breaks up and I can't see my peaks in altitude etc.

equipment used:

rc tx: dx6i with 6200 rx
video tx: range video 900
osd: rvosd
plane: Twinstar 2

I have got my rc rx in the front under my video tx. I know this may be bad, but i thought since one is 900mhz and other is 2.4 ghtz it would be ok.

The current sensor is here also next to battery and rc rx.

I cut a hatch in back rear of plane and inserted osd.

I put my gps outside plane behind wings which btw works great.

Attachments

Alex Villa

Super Moderator
You do have very bad positions for both the R/C Rx and antenna satelite. the small gray wire comming out are the antennas. and the better gain for both are to the wider sides. In your case the satellite has the signal obstructed/interfered by the battery, and the main receiver antenna to close to the surrounded wires.

CaptnKliegle

Get the RC RXR antennas away from any metal (i.e. aluminum foil covered Lipos). Can you place it far forward of the battery?

I use AR6200's in numerous aircraft, and always have the antennas pointing straight out from the plastic housing, and also have them installed 90 degrees relative to each other. i.e. one set of antennas are mounted vertically (vertical polarization) and the other reciever mounted horizontally (horizontally polarized). Think of how a diversity RXR antennas are mounted when used for the 900Mhz video down link, the AR6200 is essentially a diversity RXR.