Emi/rfi - q & a

e.Man

i have a hunch EMI/RFI problems are often overlooked in the RC industry. i have some experience in solving these issues, but i'm no expert.

for those looking for solutions to interference problems, there are a few products i'm aware of. you can look on MM-Carr - they have some stuff including paints, tapes and foils. another product is MuMetal but i think it is pretty expensive. can find that here.

the cheapest way to deal with the issue may simply be aluminum foil. how effective household aluminum foil is compared to the same thickness of specialty products i have no idea.

i also remember something about grounding but i don't remember the particulars. let's take a long servo cable for example - if you wrap it with a foil, i think 1 end, and ONLY one end, of the foil tube should be grounded to the (-) batt terminal. if anyone can expand on this i would be grateful.

another possible source of EMI is any wire/cable because wires can act very much like antennas if the length is right. i'm really foggy on this, but i seem to remember having to protect servo extensions in excess of 24 in. or so when you're flying a 72 MHz system. what i am told works, or helps, is simply to braid the cable (or buy braided cable). can do this easy enough by slipping out the connectors on one end, braiding the cable and re-inserting the pins.

i'd like to hear onions and known solutions to EMI/RFI problems regarding the above, as well as your own solutions.

CaptnKliegle